

Judson C. Crane CPPO, CPPB Director of Purchasing and Contract Administration 6544 Firehouse Road, Milton, Florida 32570-3411

> Phone: 850/983-5130 Facsimile: 850/983-5133 E-mail: cranej@santarosa.k12.fl.us Website: www.santarosa.k12.fl.us/ purchasing

March 10, 2015

Mr. Tim Wyrosdick Superintendent of Schools 5086 Canal Street Milton, FL 32570-6707

Dear Mr. Wyrosdick,

School lunch program regulations, according to 7 CFR 210.14(e), require school food authorities (SFAs) participating in the National School Lunch Program to charge full paid students the difference between free meal reimbursement (\$3.00) and paid meal reimbursement (\$0.30) for lunch. That difference is currently \$2.70 (\$3.00 - \$0.30 = \$2.70). Districts are allowed to raise rates gradually. In order to be in compliance with the current legislation, prices for the upcoming school year are required to be set to give a weighted average of \$2.45, with meal counts in consideration. The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services has agreed to allow price increases for SY 15-16 to give a weighted average of \$2.44, provided that the district will continue to work towards the goal of a weighted average of \$2.70 for paid meals.

It is recommended that this price increase be implemented by 10 cents at the elementary level, and 5 cents at the secondary level next school year, with a 10 cent increase both of the following years. During SY 18-19, it is recommended that prices increase by 5 cents at the elementary level, and 10 cents at the secondary level.

School Year	Current	2015/16	2016/17	2017/18	2018/19
Breakfast	1.05	1.05	1.05	1.05	1.05
Breakfast - Adult	1.75	1.75	1.75	1.75	1.75
Lunch - Elementary	2.25	2.35	2.45	2.55	2.60
Lunch - Secondary	2.50	2.55	2.65	2.75	2.85
Lunch – Adult*	3.00	3.25	3.25	3.25	3.25

Approval for the meal price increase is requested.

Sincerely,

Judson C Crane

Judson C. Crane

*Adult meals are governed by a different standard, based on an annual index. Accordingly, if a future price increase is required, board approval will be requested at that time.

DISTRICT 1 Diane Scott DISTRICT 2 E. Hugh Winkles DISTRICT 3

DISTRICT 4 Jennifer Granse DISTRICT 5
Scott Peden